Logitech Ultrathin Touch Mouse T630 Review

J.A. Watson from ZDNet wrote a report on his experience with the new Ultrathin Touch Mouse T630 by Logitech.  In his review he wrote “As with essentially all Logitech products I have tried, I highly recommend this one.”  After reading his article, I was compelled to hop on over to Amazon’s Website and .check price and availability as well as the specs and reviews.  The specs on the T630 were impressive…

  • Designed for Ultrabooks: Brushed metallic body and silky-smooth touch surface perfectly compliment the sleek look of your Ultrabook
  • Ultra-portable: Super-thin design slips easily into a computer sleeve or the pocket of your jeans
  • Windows 8 touch gesture support: Simplifies touch navigation with natural, intuitive gestures (also works with Windows 7)
  • Bluetooth wireless pairs multiple devices: Connects to your Ultrabook, tablet and desktop PC with easy switching between devices
  • Charge over USB: No battery hassles. Just 1 minute of charge time powers your mouse for an hour. (Based on typical user experience. Your results may vary.)

The customer reviews gave the Logitech T630 a four star rating and the $55.22 price tag along with free shipping clinched the deal.  I took delivery of the T630 today and I couldn’t wait to start using it.  I have been using the Microsoft ARC Touch Mouse for almost a year now and I have been very pleased with size and function, but the thought of ditching the dongle (Plug-and-go Nano Transceiver) for total Bluetooth connectivity experience excites me.  The T630 supports two Bluetooth channels, enabling me to use it with my Bluetooth enabled desktop computer as well.  This little device perfectly compliments my Logitech Bluetooth Illuminated Keyboard K810 making me truly wireless!

Windows 8.1 and the T630 connected as you would expect from a Logitech device.  After my laptop connect to the mouse, I went to http://www.logitech.com/en-us/support/ultrathin-touch-mouse-t630 to download “Setpoint”.  Setpoint provides smooth scrolling and gesture support for Logitech touch products to enhance your navigation experience.  As you would expect, this went without a hitch.  A restart was required and a splash screen appeared with a link to register your new device along with taking a short survey.  I always register my devices and I’ve taken the survey when registering other Logitech products, so I knew it would only take thirty seconds to complete.

Okay, so after six hours of using the T630 I have to say I like it.  I’m reminded of the days when I used to use a Mac.  There are no visible buttons on top but you still have the functionality of a two button mouse just by pressing on the left side or the right side of the singular surface.  One feature I didn’t want to give up that the Microsoft ARC Touch Mouse supported was the ability to rapidly scroll Websites just by double tapping on the arch of the mouse.  I was pleased to discover that this simple looking mouse offers the same feature simply by pressing straight down on the center of the mouse.

The small profile makes it extremely portable and Logitech claims the expected battery life is ten days on a full 1.5 hour charge.  On the other hand, the small profile can make it somewhat uncomfortable for a person with a medium to large size hand over an extended period of use.  Although it is lightweight it feels solid in your hand.  The switches on the bottom feel solid when powering on and off and switching from channel one to channel two.  I have to agree with J.A Watson “As with essentially all Logitech products I have tried, I highly recommend this one.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

